Gold Coast: Day 2

I did not sleep well last night. Surfer’s Paradise is a real party town; between the noise and feeling under the weather from my allergies, I found myself waking up just about every hour. So, after an uneasy night, Claudia, Jess, and I got up early and went to a nearby cafe, called Zarraffa’s (giraffe), for breakfast. I got a yummy Caffè mocha coffee and a breakfast sandwich. As a side observation, most of the coffee here is just variations of espresso. I see flat whites, macciatos, and cappuccinos on cafe menus more often than I see just regular coffee. It’s actually kind of nice.

image

After breakfast, the girls and I got on a bus to go to a nearby theme park called Dreamworld. It’s pretty much a large Six Flags, but with animals. We rode a few rides, but mostly we walked around looking at the kangaroos, koalas, various birds, and crocodiles. It was really awesome to see some of the native wildlife here.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I didn’t want to go on a lot of rides, so Jess and I took some pictures while we waited for everyone on the other side of each one…

image

image

The one ride I did go one was one of those star-blaster type rides, where you get pulled up really high in the air and dropped down. We were so high in the air that you could see the whole park and beyond. When we reached the top, they held us there for about 20 seconds that felt like 20 minutes from the anticipation. When we were finally dropped, the wind was so strong that I actually lost my breath. It was terrifying and totally awesome. I loved it.

When we got back to our “hotel” everyone took a much needed nap. Later on, Jess, Claudia, and I got Chinese food at a shop called The Little Clay Pot. The food was SO GOOD; you could tell because only Asian people were eating there (sorry). On our way back to the hotel, we stopped at the gelato place that we went to last night. This time I got coconut gelato with Nutella drizzled on top. De-li-ci-ous!

image

I’m now sitting in my hotel room watching Everybody Loves Raymond by myself and hoping that will power and benadryl will heal me. Everyone else is at a pub crawl that I could not muster the energy to go to. Here’s hoping that I sleep better tonight… I can’t wait to go back to urbanest tomorrow!

Goodbye for now!

Luisa

3 thoughts on “Gold Coast: Day 2

  1. Luisa,
    I love how despite you feeling “crumby” from allergies you are still making the best of the experience!
    Those Koalas you posted were absolutely ADORABLE!
    And that gelato looked heavenly!
    I hope the Benadryl kicks in and you’re back to your peppy, Luisa-y self ASAP!
    Much love,
    Nyria ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Luisa, I hope you’re feeling better today, and back to urbanest, where you want to be. The photos of the wildlife are wonderful, love the Koala, and I guess those were kangaroos having a Sunday lie-down? Love following your adventures. Love you! G’ma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

